The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
My holy grail mic..... Ribbon Microphones
Old 1st January 2011
Lives for gear
My holy grail mic.....

Hey, I'm not really a very good singer but as a writer I frequently have to record my tones. I've had the pleasure of recording my vocal on many mics over the years and had varying amounts of success, but I've never really found that out-of-the-box winner.

I always have to seriously push the eq around 9kHz and that rarely brings nice things with it. I've sung down 87's 67's 47's all sorts really. Never a C12 as it goes. Surprisingly (to me at least) some of the best recordings I've made of myself have been on ribbon mics that show off the chesty low mid of my voice.

Just a man looking for something that works peculiarly for me. Any advice apart from to give up singing?
Old 1st January 2011
AEA R44CE

Cloud JRS-34-P

You can boost the highs for days and they won't sound harsh like a condenser mic, and the lows/mids are like butter.

Old 1st January 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trakworx View Post
AEA R44CE
Co-Sign.

RCA 44.

Royer 122 can be good - very neutral freq response, and handles high spl well if you're a belter.

BLUE Woodpecker is 100% hit or miss. It either words beautifully or sucks brilliant ass. Depends highly on placement, voice, and context - true of all mics, but the woodpecker seems especially finicky.
Old 1st January 2011
Lives for gear

I haven't tried it myself, but I've heard nothing but great things about the Coles 4038.
Old 1st January 2011
member no 666

Quote:
Originally Posted by automatom View Post
ust a man looking for something that works peculiarly for me. Any advice apart from to give up singing?