The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Pretty Ricky Cookie Cutter Vocal Processing Multi-Effects Processors (HW)
Old 31st December 2010
Here for the gear

Pretty Ricky Cookie Cutter Vocal Processing

Hi,

I really like the vocals in Cookie Cutter

Especially I'm refering to minute 0.33. The vocal sounds really fat, is this just a chorus on it, or panned and layered?

May anyone help me with the techniques they used in order to get these fat vocals? I'm really new with vocal processing

thanks in advance guys
happy new year
Old 31st December 2010
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchnmiami View Post
Hi,

I really like the vocals in Cookie Cutter

Especially I'm refering to minute 0.33. The vocal sounds really fat, is this just a chorus on it, or panned and layered?

May anyone help me with the techniques they used in order to get these fat vocals? I'm really new with vocal processing

thanks in advance guys
happy new year
all I hear is a lot of Autotune
Old 1st January 2011
Here for the gear

well thats true so far
Old 1st January 2011
At 0.33 some female-sounding backing harmony vocals kick in ... if that's what you mean. There is a lot of hard tuning and layers and processing going in these vocals, and some of it sounds like a vocoder. But there are so many options for making processed vocals like this, I wouldn't like to guess what software or hardware was used. Could be Autotune or Melodyne ... Notice the "yeah" at 0.08 - you can hear the notes slide down chromatically, like sweeping down a keyboard. This is probably hard tuned 100% pitch correction, so that if the singer does a glissando, it is turned into chromatically descending notes.