The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Expensive V.S Cheap?
Old 31st December 2010
Deleted 6ccb844
Expensive V.S Cheap?

This may be out of my own ignorance here, but I have now mixed and mastered several albums / EP's / Demo's (Mainly Metal) for friends and bands and some of my own work.. Don't get me wrong I can make a pigs ear of it at the start but after weeks of relentless determination and finding out new things I never new on a day to day basis I WILL make it sound like the reference track (Or within a close margin)..

I'm not really new to this as I have been a musician for many years and I have alot of positive results from my work and I've got alot more work coming from word of mouth. (Also did sound engineering at college)

Now my gear is well considered rubbish by many!! I know I could get an extra 5 - 10 % if I spent a fortune on equipment but why? (I also wish I could afford it so poor :( ) When I can get great results on cost effective equipment I have??

Don't get me wrong I am a perfectionist and my workflow is slow (About a week to a week and a half to mix a 9 track @ 4 hours a day)

A customer want's to know what gear I have and I have to admit it sounds a bit embarrising but I said to him your buying my ears not my equipment...

But I digress and get to the point.

Would I benefit a substantial gain from an upgrade say withing the £1000.00 region?

Is there any benefits to spending a fortune like 30K? when I can do it (or close enough) with equipment for less than 5k?

Would it speed up my workflow?

What is relatively inexpensive and would benefit me?

I use:

MBOX3
SM58 / 57
AKG C4000
AKG Drum Mic set
Pro tools LE 8
Amplitube and a mxiture of guitars (7 / 8 String Ibanez, Kramer 2 with Carlsbro amp and a Fender amp with DI)
Yamaha Bass
Yamaha Drum Kit
Massey Plugins
Various other well known Mastering tools
Yamaha Synth