The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
NON-Music related career choices? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 30th December 2010
Gear Maniac

NON-Music related career choices?

So I went to audio college straight out of school, done a few gigs here and there since then but am now looking to get into something more realistic and stable.

Im looking for something that requires more of a hands on skill than marketing/sales/people relations/climbing the corporate ladder type careers.

What are some of the more unique higher paying($50,000 and over) careers/trades that people here do or know of?
What would you train in if you were to start again today?
Old 30th December 2010
Lives for gear

I'm a partime freelancer in audio, and my main income comes from ICT consultancy jobs, wich pays rather wel, especially for someone who doesn't have a college degree (not necesairy, if you got the skills). Other freelancers i know work in engineering jobs (wich need a College degree of course) or as lower skilled (high school degree) electric technician.

But anything that you're good at, can be a good career choice, as long as there is demand...
Old 30th December 2010
Gear Guru

The most secure jobs are the one's with all the government funding

IT, specifically network security.

Hands on - Robotics, mechanical engineering.

Utilities, Communications.

You can also go for tour/show support jobs, lighting and sound techs,
acoustical engineering, electrician, that sort of tuff.
Old 30th December 2010
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by FFTT View Post
Anything health-care related. Stacks of jobs in health in Australia, Allied health is not too hard to get into, you still need a degree but some are short...

I just finished my Masters in audiology after coming to the same realisation about 3 years ago...
Old 30th December 2010
Gear Maniac

Quote: