The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Please be gentle! Complete newbie needs advice! Dynamic Microphones
Old 30th December 2010
Here for the gear

Please be gentle! Complete newbie needs advice!

Like I said in the title, please be gentle...

I am a singer and, in the past, I've always relied on the musicians I've worked with to write the music for our projects (although I always wrote the melody) since I can't play an instrument myself (except guitar, which I hate playing). I'm getting tired of not having enough artistic control, and I'd like to start to learn how to play keyboard well enough to record electronic music myself.

I'm nowhere near in the league of any of the people on here (I'll be starting with, um Garageband) but I haven't got a clue where to start really.

The first thing I need to do is learn how to play keyboard reasonably well. If my ancient Mac hadn't stopped working a few months ago, I'd buy a software synth, but this is obviously no good without a computer (and is it even possible to learn how to play keyboard on a software synth?).

I know that I could just buy some crappy used keyboard but, ideally, I'd like to buy a hardware synth (with as many keys as possible - preferably weighted) that I can then use with my future new Mac. I'm pretty broke, so $500 would be about my limit.

Sorry if this is the wrong site to post on, but I didn't know where else to post.

Thanks, in advance, for any advice.
Old 30th December 2010
Deleted #157546
If you want to record for 500 bucks you need:

DAW
Interface
Headphones
Mic
Misc

500 bucks is pretty much BARE minimum to get started from nothing.

I'd suggest talking to Sweetwater or a local music store and they can set you up with something to start.
Old 30th December 2010
Here for the gear

Thanks for responding!