The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Work appreciation Condenser Microphones
Old 29th December 2010
Gear Nut

Work appreciation

Hello,

I just want to know your opinions on my job.
I am not a pro, for the moment, I use to work in dubbing, post-production (cartoons) and as a sound/light technician in events, but I'd like work in recording studio.
Anyway, I know the song has been poorly mastered by myself (L2...) and mixed with plug-ins in cubase sx5. I compressed it to much, and I didn't work the stereo space enough, but, just for opinions...

The room where I recorded was not a recording studio, and I was in the room with the performers. The instruments were not great...
I first recorded drums + electric contrabass (poor old fender bass amp) live, and after, the acoustic guitar, then the electric guitar (on a bad transistor marshall amp) and finally the singer.
I had no monitors, only my headphones (beyerdynamic dt770).

The setup was :

Drums :

Kick : at4033
snare : beyerdynamic m69n
Toms : ****ty t-bone microphones
OH : oktava mk-012
hh : akg se391b (but I removed it almost totally, not useful in the mix)

No room mic (not enough inputs)

Electric contrabass : akg se391b

Acoustic guitar : akg se391b stereo set

Electric guitar :

close : peluso r14
ambient : audio technica 4033

Vocals : audio technica 4033

All the mics were plugged into an old D&R dayner, and then in a motu 828 firewire (first version)

Cheap cables.

Mixed with waves, psp and fab filbter plug-ins. (I'd like to mix it with HW, I already worked in interships in studios, with great gear, API, GML, SSL, A-designs, UA... but I can't afford it for the moment, my next purchase will be an overstayer I think)

I mixed it on a hi-fi system, sansui au-d101 integrated amp and rogers LS6 speakers. (but I really enjoy listening music with these

My room is my bedroom, not treated.