The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How to use Patchbays Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 28th December 2010
Lives for gear

How to use Patchbays

Hi there fellow slutz,

I've been mixing and mastering for about 3 years now, and I feel that I am relatively good at what I do (Not that I'm trying to be big headed, but I think that my work is OK). The only problem is, I do everything ITB, and can't really remember the last time I actually used analogue gear. Because everything is ITB, I don't know how to use a patchbay properly. I think I know how to patch between gear but I don't think I know how to get things out of the desk INTO the patchbay. I also don't know how to get it out of the patchbay back to the desk.

I also vaguely remember my tutor from college saying that patching things as inserts during recording is fairly difficult.

Cheers heh
Old 28th December 2010
Lives for gear

Basically, without writing an essay, every input and every output on every piece of gear in your studio (console line ins, console inserts, console auxiliaries, outboard in and out... everything) is connected to the rear of the patchbays.

This makes it possible to patch from the output of any piece of gear into the input of another... make sense?