The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Micing for Metal Guitar - Suggestions? Dynamic Microphones
Old 24th December 2010
Gear Head

Micing for Metal Guitar - Suggestions?

Hi, this is my first post, decided to join after noticing there is some knowledge here.

I have been recording as a hobby for around 12 years. This last year I have upgraded my equipment and will be spending some time recording a final version of a few songs with a band these next couple months.

Anyways, problem is how do i get a good Heavy Metal Guitar sound, keeping it crisp and clean sounding??? Ive been trying for hours but it does not sound good enough for our recording session.

edit: Im not talking about my guitar tone, I'm referring to the sound after recording it.

The equipment i am using should work i think......

-Crate 2x12 solid state amp with 2 overdrive stages, one speaker disconnected for better micing

-Marshall Valvestate 100 watt through JCM900 brit cab

Tried micing the marshall cabinet every different way, and ended up micing the crate instead due to a better sounding overdrive channel. The microphone used is an SM57. Tried every mic placement i could think of, staying between the cone and surround. As with tubes, are high volumes required for micing a solid state amp also?

The gain (distortion) is only at 5 compared to the 8-9 i would use when playing live. Bass 5 mid 8 treb 7. Shape/Contour 3... compared to 7-8 live. Its just not making a usable Recording tone, but on the other hand the actual live sound is great! Now of course, if I were to use my live settings, the 4 guitar tracks would turn to MUD due to the multiplication of distortion.