The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Does anyone see hope on the horizon? Plugin Bundles
Old 23rd December 2010
Does anyone see hope on the horizon?

Honestly, I've been trying to get work for about a year now and NOTHING. I think I've gotten a hold of every studio in or around LA. I'm a dang good engineer, an amazing assistant and I'm even willing to "run" to stay in this business right now, no wait... I'd be ECSTATIC to be PAID(key word) to clean toilets right now!

Does anyone see a glimmer of hope on the horizon? A pickup in bookings, or at least inquiries? Actually have a need for runners, let alone ASSISTANTS?

..... we're dying out here!
Old 23rd December 2010
Gear Guru

Honestly, I think if you study numbers, the NUMBER of larger type studio's that need paid assistants and runners opening vs. the number of larger type studio's that need paid assistants and runners closing is a diminishing number. ie: larger studio's are closing faster than opening up. This trend has been going on for a decade, and is now in veritable free fall with the added issues of the economy and governmental control gone amok - and I have not seen any signs of it turning a corner and heading back northward.....

If your career goals depend on someone paying you a salary, I think your odds are pretty slim to none.

I'm sure you are good at what you do, but what if no one needs that? Diversification, re-defining who you are and what you do, foresight and super hard work may lead you in a new direction that includes audio.

But it will be difficult. Good luck.

bp

PS - the good news (if you can call it that) is that there are 1000X's more studios than there used to be. You just need to figure out how to make yourself valuable enough to get those one man garage/bedroom/basement shops to open up their wallets for you....
Old 24th December 2010
Lives for gear