The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Hobbyist - studio monitor suggestions? Studio Monitors
Old 23rd December 2010
Gear Head

Hobbyist - studio monitor suggestions?

I am a recording hobbyist looking into a first set of studio monitors. All I'm looking for is something with a decent frequency range, a decent price, and reliability. I've been looking into this pair of Fostex monitors. Any horror stories? Any advice for alternatives?
Old 23rd December 2010
Gear Nut

What is your budget?
Old 23rd December 2010
Gear Head

I'd certainly like to stay under $300 for the pair.
Old 23rd December 2010
Lives for gear

Do you have a stereo amplifier that you can use to power some passive monitors? That is an easier way to stay within your budget.
Old 23rd December 2010
Gear Head

I wish... that would be nice.
I need powered monitors.
Old 23rd December 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse_O View Post
I am a recording hobbyist looking into a first set of studio monitors. All I'm looking for is something with a decent frequency range, a decent price, and reliability. I've been looking into this pair of Fostex monitors. Any horror stories? Any advice for alternatives?
ATH-M50s... I know you asked for monitors but seriously, I think these phones are that good. I have Mackie HR824s that I have used for 11 years now. The ATH-M50s sound really close. My mixes have dramatically improved since I started mixing with these. If anything, get a pair with whatever monitors you choose.
Old 23rd December 2010
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest Buckley View Post