The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How do you handle losing DAW projects? DAW Software
Old 21st December 2010
Gear Nut

How do you handle losing DAW projects?

I'm about 99% sure I lost a music project today that I've been working on for 3 months. One track/song. I lost half the project and would have to re-create almost 50% over which is devastating for me because of the programming involved.

All I'm going to say is, I made a mistake. I do make backups daily, but regardless. Both copies are the same.

I feel terrible because I was attached to it emotionally and worked so hard. I would hate to see this happen to anyone else. You can't talk about it with your wife because she doesn't understand. You just sit and soak it up.

Please be careful out there guys, things can go haywire even with backup systems. Sometimes a manual backup, even though it old school, might save you.
Old 21st December 2010
Lives for gear
Well, for starters, you probably have not lost it, but the FATs have become corrupted, or something equally as goofy.

BTW, what ever happened to back-ups?
Old 21st December 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by clank72 View Post
I'm about 99% sure I lost a music project today that I've been working on for 3 months. One track/song. I lost half the project and would have to re-create almost 50% over which is devastating for me because of the programming involved.

All I'm going to say is, I made a mistake. I do make backups daily, but regardless. Both copies are the same.

I feel terrible because I was attached to it emotionally and worked so hard. I would hate to see this happen to anyone else. You can't talk about it with your wife because she doesn't understand. You just sit and soak it up.