The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Setting up a studio and need some ideas... Condenser Microphones
Old 21st December 2010
Here for the gear

Setting up a studio and need some ideas...

I have been recording and writing music for around 9 or 10 years now. I've finally decided to break down and setup a real studio with better gear. What I used before was just a desktop PC running windows XP, Cakewalk Home Studio 2002, a Korg Pandora digital 4 track recorder, and a shure sm58 dynamic mic. What I am looking to do is upgrade completely. I wanna switch to a Mac and go with Logic. I am dropping some serious cash on this and any suggestions you have will help me greatly. Here's the list.

Macbook Pro 13" 2.4 or 2.6 ghz
Logic Studio
Apogee One
Apogee Gio
M-Audio 88es Keyboard
Shure PG42 Condenser Mic
BFD2
Alesis USB Studio Drum Kit (Non-Surge Cymbal Kit)
Firewire External Hard Drive for storage

I'm basically setting this all up for solo work. I would be laying down all the tracks myself most of the time. So I wouldn't need the Apogee Duet because I can use the Gio and the One at the same time. I would use the M-Audio 88es for Bass, Keys, Strings, etc... and the Alesis Kit with BFD2 for drums. I'm planning on making an album or an EP. I am also going to use this to record a few of my friends to help them out too. If you can think of anything that I need to add or anything that I should change please let me know.

Also I want to use the Macbook for Mainstage 2. I would like to know if anyone does this currently and has any advice for me. I would most likely be playing guitar and singing then pre-record the rest of the tracks to play behind me. Would this work out or would it be difficult to do. This is a big selling point for me on the Mac/Logic system so any advice would help. Thanks!
Old 21st December 2010
Lives for gear