The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
phasing issue poll
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Nut

phasing issue poll

Hey folks

I'm a guitarist, and had a session for a songwriter in a fairly well known studio in montreal yesterday...

For two songs there were some guitar riffs that we had agreed to double; and tihs is where the engineer told me something that seemed to contradict what other engineers have told me in the past (mind you i'm no expert, just a guitarist who's always happy to learn):

that i had to switch guitars so that there wouldn't be an phasing issue when i was doubling a part... he really insisted that I use another guitar...

what do you guys tihnk?
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Addict

Using a different guitar can beef up the sound and make it more interesting but I've never ever had phasing issues doubling a part with the same guitar.
Old 20th December 2010
Lives for gear

That's awesome....No....that's far from the truth. You may or may not like the sound of that same harmonic structure doubled....but it ain't gonna cancel.

Kirt Shearer
www/paradisestudios.net
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Nut

ya that's what i thought, it wasn't my session and i really wasn't gonna argue with an engineer who really insists on a lot of things...

the sound he got for me was pretty bad too but oh well.... as long as the guy who hired me is happy, i'm cool with it
Old 20th December 2010
Lives for gear

lol if you played it exactly the same and the guitars pitch was exactly the same an so were all your dynamics THEN you'd get a phasey thing...

happens on vocals occasionally with singers with perfect pitch, timing and dynamics..the more they dbl the smaller the sound

but, like in 30 years i have only heard 2 or 3 singers where that has happened
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sigma View Post