The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Which mics would you recommend ? Condenser Microphones
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Nut

Which mics would you recommend ?

Hi everybody,
I am currently shopping for a pair of versatile LDC to record everything from drums overheads (they'll have to excel there, I am a drummer), acoustic guitars, sax, percussion, guitar and bass cabs, vocals... I know that's asking a lot from a single pair... but isn't it possible ? The contenders are :

AT 4050
AKG C414 XLS
Pearlman TM1
Peluso 22 251
BeesNeez Arabella

I know the last 3 are not in the same price range, I could afford them, but I would have to sacrifice ( or at least postpone) the purchase of an outboard compressor.
thanks !!!
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Nut

oh yeah... I have a Pacifica and 2 Electrodyne 501 for preamps. Thought that would help...
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Maniac

Beesneez Arabella is a wonderful mic. Although it is, I truly recommend the 414 for Overheads. I use them all the time for that purpose and it’s one of my favorite OH mics ever. You get crisp highs, perfect for cymbal hits and rolls and the overall sound has a boost of intelligibility. Other than the 414, I also recommend Royer r-122s.

I haven’t tried the Peluso 22 251, but i’ve heard many good things about that microphone.
Old 20th December 2010
Lives for gear

Give some serious thought into a pair of BLUE Dragonflys.
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Maniac

Blue Dragonflys are actually very nice microphones indeed. Good suggestion.
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by lrichner View Post
Although it is, I truly recommend the 414 for Overheads. I use them all the time for that purpose and it’s one of my favorite OH mics ever. You get crisp highs, perfect for cymbal hits and rolls and the overall sound has a boost of intelligibility.