The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Issue: Need to Clean up drum performance DAW Software
Old 18th December 2010
Here for the gear

Issue: Need to Clean up drum performance

Just some quick info I'm running Pro Tools 9 on a MacBook Pro..

So I have some tracked drums: Kick, Snare, T1, T2, T3, and OH's L and R.

There are a few tempo changes and the performance is pretty much on the grid and to the click, however there are many parts where the drummer falls off an uncomfortable amount and so I want to fix it so its clean. I know a couple ways of achieving this is by using Beat Detective, or even elastic audio, the thing is, I'm not a pro with either feature and I have been messing with them for days trying to fix certain parts of this performance that are clearly off the grid.

What would be ideal is for me to be able to completely quantize the drums (it's metal) but the it seems like that is going to be impossible without ruining the sound of the overheads.

So What do I do?

I ran the kick and snare through Drum Replacement/Doubling in Logic and imported the MIDI back into Pro Tools and loaded a kick/ snare sample, so now I have the tracked kick, and a sampled kick. The same for the snare.

Will using a bounced region of the sampled kick/snare (which has no bleed) be easier for Beat Detective to sense each hit? And if so, is it possible to set up Beat Detective's parameters for say the kick, separate, and conform the regions so that it is correctly aligned on the grid and use THOSE settings again on the snare/ OH's so that everything can stay running in sync and possibly not sound like crap?

Or would it be easier to use elastic audio and manually fix the hits that are off, and even if I did it that way, are grouped tracks still affected as a group with elastic audio? That way I wouldn't have to do each track individually?