The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Golden Age Carnhill Transformer!! Single-Channel Preamps
Old 17th December 2010
Gear Nut

I was just looking at these on ebay. Have you tried to put these in before? I have no electronics experience and this seems like a really cool idea.
Old 17th December 2010
Lives for gear

Like the auction says, looks easy, all the work is done. Thinking about it
Old 17th December 2010
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by theproduca View Post
Like the auction says, looks easy, all the work is done. Thinking about it
If you do go through with it, let me know how it goes thumbsup
Old 17th December 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottyjneilson View Post
Dude this is the wrong area to be putting this up man that is what the classifieds are for.
Yo po po, It's information, not the sale!!! It's NOT my auction, #1 This would be considered equipment #2, Last but NOT least...where's your GURL at?!!! That's what I thought!!
Old 17th December 2010
Lives for gear

I just had Dave Thomas at Advanced Audio mod my GAP 73 with a Carnhill/St Ives Input transformer and the 7 tantalum caps - NOT the output transformer.
Dave has 40 years audio circuit experience and engineering chops. He claims the original Neve Carnhill OT was crude and the Chinese GAP OT is its equal in sonic terms and every other measurable way. The best bang for your buck would be the input transformer and the tantalums.

I did one of my GAPs and the other is still stock. I can tell you right now that as soon as the holidays are over I'm sending the other to Dave.

BTW, I saw that ebay listing - maybe he'll start offering a similar drop in for the IT. But probably not as some extra holes had to be drilled for the Input tranny....

JN
Old 17th December 2010
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottyjneilson View Post