The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
LANOIS/ENO treatments & gear: question for thethrillfactor and gearslutz Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 21st December 2005
Gear Nut

LANOIS/ENO treatments & gear: question for thethrillfactor and gearslutz

I am a music therapist and am very interested in the more ambient production and engineer techniques with effects processing. Using the studio to do all kinds of manipulations to get the desired end result of a seductive listening experience for myself and my clients. i would like to learn as much as I can about this topic.

I have read some of thethrillfactor's posts on this topic. He seems to know quite a bit about the Lanois/Eno sound treatments and production.

I wanted to ask him and any others if they would mind sharing more elaborate knowlege with me about what Peices of gear you know about that they were using and how they used them between 1980 -1986 on albums such as Harold Budd's The Pearl & Plateau of Mirror, Michael Brook's Hybrid, Apollo, On Land and Thursday Afternoon.

The treatmetns on those are so haunting...especially the Pearl by Harond Budd.

Also later ambient albums like Daniel Lanois' Sling Blade soundtrack..I love those tremeloey guitar effects he gets. What does he use to get that fast throbbing sound on Slingblade? Some kind of pedal?

I love the sounds of these albums and would love to further my knowlege of the gear they were using and how they implemented it in ways that my mind may not be able to grasp without another person explaining it to me who has enough expereince to comment on these concepts. I am not new to sound engineering so please elaborate as much as possible.

Thank you kindly for your time and wisdom
Old 21st December 2005
Gear Maniac

depends