The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Cheap violin or cello-- worth it?
Old 21st November 2009
Lives for gear

Cheap violin or cello-- worth it?

I compose and record trailer and ad music professionally and am looking to augment my string samples (East West Platinum) with me playing live violin and cello. I've seen really cheap violins and cellos on Ebay (200 bucks or less). I am a complete novice string player, so the price seems right. However, I would hesitate to buy a guitar for that price (I'm a pro guitarist), as the wiring would likely be crap. Is it worth it to buy a cello or violin in this range? Any suggestions for makers or price ranges for entry-level instruments that sound good recorded?

Thanks!
Dan
Old 23rd November 2009
Lives for gear

40 views and no thoughts?! All opinions welcome. Many thanks!
Old 23rd November 2009
Lives for gear

I would definitely play the instrument before buying. Just like a guitar, some cheap ones aren't that bad to play but you've gotta try to see....
Old 23rd November 2009
Lives for gear

Good point MPCist. Buying on Ebay, you don't get that chance to play the instrument, but maybe they've got a return policy... Hmmm. I guess I've answered my question partly. Anybody actually own or have experience with student or entry-level violins or cellos?
Old 16th February 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanGo View Post