The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
mastering advice re. vinyl
Old 19th November 2009
mastering advice re. vinyl

I have a couple of songs coming out as a 45 in Spain soon and, although I've been doing this for 20 years as an artist, I'm afraid there are still a few technical details that confound and intimidate me.

The mix was done by a very capable fellow with shiny discs on his walls who did my whole last album to much acclaim and personal satisfaction on my part. He uses compression in a very musical way and I really like the way he makes my music sound.

The mastering is being done by a fellow associated with the label- and I like the way their records sound, too. The mastering engineer wrote

"I´ll wait for your reply. As I said, It´s just about the limiter, probably a digital unit because everything is square flat in the peak area (no transients)... Anything else (compression, retro tone, etc...) is ok obviously, as I assume as THE artistic approach for the mixes and the production, so no problems here.
If he could just do the transfers again without the limiter enganged, it would be great for me. I wll probably use a limiter at the end of the chain, but having a heavy processed mix (limiting) is always worse for archiving a good result at the end..."

Quite reasonable, but when listening to the mixes without the limiter engaged, they really don't sound as good. Is the right move to have them sound the way we like them and restrict the mastering somewhat, or to trust that the mastering engineer is letting us know what he needs. By the way, these mixes don't soud slammed. The first song has a piano playing whole notes (plastic ono band- style) in the verse and you can hear it decay, the cymbals are through a Fairchild and t sounds perfectly Ringo- ish.
Old 19th November 2009
Gear Addict

Ok mate, simple solution: