The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Pro tools plug in automating queston
Old 19th November 2009
Lives for gear

Pro tools plug in automating queston

Um, how exactly do I do it? I'm lost, scouring the manual. I've only been using Pro Tools seriously for about a year. But I really haven't mixed anything for real in it up until now.

I can't seem to figure it out. I can't enable read automation and get it to record me moving knobs on screen, or utilize my midi controller. I can however write automation in an automation track.

So sorry, total Newb question. i swear I've been living inside of Nuendo for the last 10 years. This is the first time I couldn't figure something out in Pro Tools that I wanted to.

Thank you for any help.
Old 19th November 2009
Here for the gear
This explains it better than I could in a single post... Maybe try watching it then posting questions if you are confused?

YouTube - Pro Tools - Automation
Old 19th November 2009
Here for the gear
this video starting at 1:50 might have more of what you are looking for...

YouTube - Digidesign Pro Tools Plug-In Automation Basics
Old 19th November 2009
Lives for gear

Will do, thank you.
Old 19th November 2009
Lives for gear

Ok, that's great. Been doing that all along with synths. I can't seem to get say a delay in an insert in a buss to automate by moving it's functions. I have auto enable plug in automation enabled.
Old 19th November 2009
Here for the gear
I don't know if I'm understanding correctly or not so I'll try to see if the following example helps you.

Automation for aux tracks works the same as it does on audio tracks.

1. Say I set up a stereo aux track with the the inputs being bus 3-4.

2. I insert D-verb as the plugin on the inserts of the aux track.

3. I use "Send A" on an audio track, let's say "Lead Vox" to the to aux track.