The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Why do my ears keep changing?
Old 18th November 2009
Gear Head

Why do my ears keep changing?

I don't really know the best way to explain this, but I'm talking about a phenomena which is driving me crazy at the moment.

I will listen to something, and then come back to it a few moments/hours
later, and It will sound very different.

eg I will be deciding which version of a bass sound I like out of two tracks of bass, I will clearly favor one, then come back a few hours later, and completely change my mind.

This is happening with vocal sounds, eq settings, pretty much everything.

It's almost as if my ears and there relationship to the totally subjective thing that is sound, is so inconsistent at the moment, I feel like
I'm never actually getting any work done as I keep changing my mind on decisions I have made.

Am I going crazy? Is this a normal part of the learning process?
(I've been doing this stuff for about 3 years or so now).

While my mixing/engineering is the best it's ever been, I feel so lost
right now as to what the hell I'm actually supposed to be listening for,
due to the fickle and 'impermanent' nature of my ears and therefore mix decisions.

Any thoughts would be most appreciated.

Cheers

-Mike
Old 18th November 2009
Gear Head

I should add, that this is almost always a direct result of my almost unhealthy habit of A/Bing with other mixes, and other songs from the album I'm currently producing.

Any thoughts on the problems/benefits of A/Bing and trying to match
different elements of commercial mixes would be most welcome
here too.
Old 18th November 2009
Gear Maniac

It'll drive you crazy, trying to match to mastered CD's these days can fatigue your mixing brain for sure!
Old 18th November 2009
Lives for gear

Ear is a very adaptive organ. It doesn't like to judge. I, personally try to keep the hesitation to a healthy amount.
Old 18th November 2009
Gear Addict