The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
NEED HELP! Compressor/ Limiter
Old 16th November 2009
Gear Nut

NEED HELP! Compressor/ Limiter

I want to get a stereo compressor/ limiter for mastering proposes. I want to be able to get things up to commercial levels, which means I am into playing the loud game when clients want it. I am looking at:
Universal Audio 2- 1176
Universal Audio 2-La-2
Manley stereo variable MU
Focusrite Red 3
Chandler TG12413
Avalon AD2044

Those are the ones I am looking at, or if you have any other ideas let me know. Let me know if you use any of the ones ive listed and have any comments.
Old 16th November 2009
Gear Nut

I'm going to go out on a limb here as I am NOT a mastering engineer.

If you are even thinking about using an 1176 or an LA2A for mastering, I would leave it to a mastering professional if you are doing work for clients. These are coloring comps and not intended for mastering purposes. I feel you may do more harm than good.

I self master using Ozone 4 and a few other plugs (Nebula3 tapes, pre's, and eq's, etc & TRacks Opto or Fairchild at times). Ozone has a pretty idiot proof limiter that can be automated & is quite flexible and musical. This is only for my own productions. I get a good result for a DIY approach. You may want to try this route as you can get many tools for less money than hardware.

If you are on the inexpensive end and your clients are not going to get their work mastered, I would use the above plug ins. If your clients may get some air play, I would get the work mastered professionally as it will only make YOU sound better.
Old 16th November 2009
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evanmd View Post
I want to get a stereo compressor/ limiter for mastering proposes. I want to be able to get things up to commercial levels, which means I am into playing the loud game when clients want it. I am looking at:
Universal Audio 2- 1176
Universal Audio 2-La-2
Manley stereo variable MU
Focusrite Red 3
Chandler TG12413