The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
What's wrong?
Old 12th November 2009
Here for the gear

What's wrong?

I'm a newb on the forum, but I've been reading posts for a really long time. Quick question for those in the know... I recently got a Beta 58a for a really good price, but the frequency response seems off. It sounds a bit muffled. On some voices it sounds ok, but on others there's a pronounced "honkiness" to it... Any idea what the problem is? Has the cartridge had it?
Thanks
Old 12th November 2009
Gear Addict

Try putting the mic on an angle to the source. so in other words, if you are putting it up to a speaker, don't aim the mic directly at the speaker.
Old 12th November 2009
Gear Head

You may just be hearing the characteristics of different voices. Microphones may resonate at certain frequencies. These honky vocals may be hitting just the right frequency to resonate the microphone. Then when you switch to the next vocal, it might disappear.

Maybe there is a problem with it's freq response though. But just know that the mic will respond differently for different sources.
Old 13th November 2009
Here for the gear

Thanks for the replies. I forgot to mention that I got the Mic 2nd hand, and am thus strongly suspecting that it may have been damaged by the previous owner (got it from a pawn shop, so I don't know any of its history). I also have a beta 57a, which is much clearer than the beta 58a. Is there a huge discernable difference between the overall sounds of the mics. This 58a sounds nothing like the 57a...
Old 13th November 2009
Gear Addict

Hate to say it, but are you sure it's not a fake.