The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Tape delay
Old 4th May 2003
Here for the gear

Tape delay

I hope this isn't an idle question. I'm a low-budget musician looking for ideas and trying to keep up with what's happening.

Earlier today I was listening to an album by Robert Fripp and Brian Eno from the early 1970s. It's one of the ones they did using two Revox A77s to provide a time delay, which Eno used a lot at that time. I remember a few other people experimenting with the idea as well.

The A77 was especially suitable for doing that, though I seem to remember Fripp saying some people had managed to use a pair of TEAC decks to get the same result (this would have been about 1978/79).

I was wondering if there's a modern equivalent? Does anybody still do that? And what equipment do they use? Also, I've thought about using sampling or sequencing to get a similar result, and although I've had some success I've never really produced anything very startling yet. I wondered if anyone has any comments.

- Andrew
Old 4th May 2003
Gear Head

tapes etc.

http://arts.ucsc.edu/ems/music/equip...Recorders.html
is a site that might have some useful information for you about tape loops & tape echo.

Also, loopers delight is a site & mailing list that may have some info for you.

Good luck.

Tom
Old 5th May 2003
Gear Head

for a digital alternative you might check into the lexicon jamman or the oberheim echoplex...
Old 5th May 2003
Lives for gear

Fripp ended up changing over to a couple of Electro Harmonix 16 second digital delays, largely because they were smaller, lighter, and easier to set up than the tape decks.

Another person to check out in regards to this sort of thing is Paul Drescher, who used a reel to reel deck, modified with extended arms. His rig was multitrack, either 4 or 8, and he controlled what went where with a small mixer.

Roland's (Boss) current loop pedal is pretty cool for this kind of playing.
Old 4th June 2003
Here for the gear