The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Should I move my gear to this new studio to work?
Old 22nd August 2005
Gear Maniac

Should I move my gear to this new studio to work?

A little background on me first.I'm a musician first (like many here)who got into recording 6 years ago.Most of my income is from playing-funk/pop/jazz/church gigs ect.;with partial income from recording.

My current settup is in the basement of the house with 7'
ceilings and mostly carpet.I've got all the basement which is 3
rooms;control room 10'x'15' ,larger tracking room and new
addition 20'x20'.I've got 57s,421s,Royer SF-12,Earthworks QTC1s,
Lawson L47,Neumann M147,Oktava pair,414.pres-9098,sytek,4 Old
School Audio and Mackie all recording to a PARIS system.

Not much in outboard comps-RNCs;also have a KSP8 and UAD-1.

Got a beautiful Yamaha C7 and Hammond C3 with leslie,wurlitzer.

So I've got a buddy who just spent $100,000-$150,000 on building
a studio in a warehouse.Nice control room high ceilings,nice big
tracking room ceilings, 2 iso booths,wood(pergo floor).

He got a Neve VR60,Studer 2" 24 trk,PT mix system.He plans to get
a 1/2" machine to mix to and a masterlink.

Outboard hes got 2 Distressors,1178,2 ADL LA2A copies,DBX stuff
and various other stuff.

He would really love to have a nice piano in there as many other studios around here(St. Louis)don't have one.Being a well-known player in the area I would probably also bring clientel he might not get otherwise;not to mention my mics,pres that he doesn't have.

We talked about if I brought my stuff down there.He was thinking
a straight time trade might work.A certain number of days a month
I could get the studio for free to work on my own cd or other
projects.If I needed more time than that a dicounted rate.

This studio would not have to be booked all the time to sustain
itself as he has a church gig than can pay much of the overhead