The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Avant garde/20th century classical music spam
Old 5th July 2009
Gear Addict

Avant garde/20th century classical music spam

A little bit of self promotion here that some of you might enjoy.

I host a 20th century classical music program on the radio sunday afternoons at three pm in Milwaukee Wisconsin. All the programs are streamed live over the net and are archived here:

91.7 WMSE | Archive

You can download and listen to all/any of the shows you want for free.

I play mostly chamber music and run the gamut from the very conservative to the very far out. In the third hour I play a string quartet by a composer every week until I have completed his/her cycle. Guys like Shostakovitch took 15 weeks to get through, Honegger three weeks, and so forth. This week I am finishing up the Turkish Composer Ahmed Saygun.

While I am not an expert, I have been collecting 20th century chamber music for a while and know quite a bit. If any of you have any questions or suggestion on things you might like to know about feel free to ask.

Also, a while ago I started this informational thread about modern composers. I have not updated it in a while but some of you might find it interesting or funny.

Electrical Audio • View topic - Capnreverbs discourse on modern string quartets and composer

Thanks!
Old 6th July 2009
Despite my trepidations at the very thought of appearing to be encouraging or rewarding spam (if indeed it even is) but with the understanding that our ever-vigilant and Solomonically-wise moderators will move this thread someplace more appropriate (if such place exists), I'd just like to say:

Dude, that sounds cool.

I just bookmarked your archive page and started poking around...

Old 6th July 2009
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by capnreverb View Post