The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
UAD-1 @ 96k
Old 19th August 2005
Gear Addict

UAD-1 @ 96k

I Just bought a UAD-1 card. Im still learning the plugins, they all sound good to me but so far im not totally blown away like i thought id be. Anyway i record at 24bit 96k and i can only get like 4 maybe 5 plugins running at a time if im using the LA2A, 1176LN, or Realverb. I understand i can get more cards but still even 4 cards wouldn't equal crazy amounts of plugins. I run a 3.4ghz processor and usually about 24 tracks and i can easily due tons of waves plugins with a few drumagog plugs and have no problems. First off if i record at 48k will i see a big increase in plugin usage from the UAD-1? And do you guys feel the quality loss at 48k is worth it to use more of the plugs? It just seems a little unfair to me to spend 2-3 grand on 4 cards to get the processing power i need to run 16-20 plugins which still isn't that many. Also i don't want to freeze tracks and what not, i built a killer computer so i wouldnt have to worry about CPU power, and UAD seems like it's forcing you to conserve by not letting my CPU take some of the burden off the UAD-1.
Old 19th August 2005
Jai guru deva om

I track and mix at 44.1/24 and get way more instances of plugs than that, so yes you will realize probably a double amount of power at 48k.

Keep in mind if you do add more cards, keep buying the entry level $399 ones because they will run all of the plugs on the Ultra Pak or whatever the highest level of card is that you own.

War
Old 19th August 2005
Lives for gear

Running the UAD plug ins above 48k you are definitely going to make some concessions in terms of how many instances you can use at once.

I think the compressors (1176, Fairchild, LA2A) are the best part of the deal, so maybe just use those on tracks you want at the front of the mix, and use waves for EQ and reverb (Q clone and IR-1 are nice).