The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Half-normal Patchbay ninjitsu
Old 17th June 2009
Lives for gear

Half-normal Patchbay ninjitsu

So, this is my first time doing ground up patchbay work. I have a half-normal patchbay, which can be opened up and switched around to work in isolated in-out fashion.

The rig is an mbox, running 4 channels in and out, and a 5/6 TRS channel output only. Outputs 1-2 are the mains. The output of Mbox 1-2 will always be hardwired to a monitor mixer. Everything else is variable. The question is, what is logistically the best way to both (a) create a simple and intuitive scheme, and (b) maximize the number of possible simultaneous inputs and outputs.

The half-normal setup creates all sorts of possibilites, and presents some potential hazards.

For example, say the A row is In, the B row is Out. If there is a Compressor on patch 6, the A Back and B Back are connected. If a signal is connected through A Front, it will hit the Compressor, then go out B Back which will continue to feed A Back and create a feedback loop.

Now suppose A is Out, and B is In (a more common scenerio). Let's say MBox 1 & 2 will be patch 1 and 2 respectively. A Back is output of Mbox. B Back is feeding the monitor mixer, to the monitors. Say you want to run a previously recorded guitar track to an outboard processor, then back into channel inputs 1 & 2 on the Mbox. If you go into B Front of 1& 2, you will loose your monitor feed.

A third option is to have the Ins and Outs of the Mbox on seperate patches, but that sort of kills the simplicity and intuitiveness of the patchbay.

Hopefully that all made sense. Anybody have any thoughts to help a ninja out?
Old 17th June 2009
Lives for gear

half normal bump
Old 17th June 2009
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by Storyville View Post