The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Getting into Session Work?
Old 5th August 2005
Here for the gear

Getting into Session Work?

Hey, this is my first post here, and I think this is the appropriate forum (session politics mentioned in the description) also haven't found anything on this doing searches so here goes.

Can anyone give me some general advice on getting into session work? I'm a guitarist, and I'm thinking in the next year or so of moving somewhere like NYC (well, probably NYC, I just love the city and have family out there) and would like to try to get into session playing.

I've heard it's a very word-of-mouth based thing, so it's tough to get in, but once you get in you're in good shape. I've got a good attitude and am easy to work with, and I've got plenty of chops (and lots of general musical knowledge, BA in Performance) but I haven't a clue as to where to start to try to get into it.

- Matt
Old 6th August 2005
Motown legend

Take lessons from a session player! Book some live gigs and hire session players to play with you. People need to have enough experience playing with you to trust that you won't screw up a session.

It's all about who knows how good you are when a schedule conflict comes up.
Old 6th August 2005
The NY session thing has dried up. You can make a living if you hustle.
Old 6th August 2005
Here for the gear

Bob - that makes a lot of sense. How can I find out who regular session players are?

Musiclab - I'm not sure I know what you mean. Do you mean that there's diminishing demand for players? Or studios have regular session players and don't need many new ones?
Old 6th August 2005
Lives for gear