The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Bass Distortion Pedal
Old 3rd August 2005
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
Bass Distortion Pedal

hey guyz, i need a good OD or Dist pedal mainly for live use, but it might get tapped in the studio aswell....i'm thinkin' about an MXR M-80 http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/...se_pid/151110/ it seems pretty damn versital

i'm using a 5 string EB Stingray, through an Ampeg SVT3Pro, to a 6x10" ampeg cab...i like mid range crunch an dig the upper mid bite...whatcha think?
Old 3rd August 2005
Here for the gear

🎧 15 years
I have no experience with it myself, but I have heard nothing but good things about the zvex wooly mammoth pedal.
You can check out the video on the site and see what you think.

http://www.zvex.com/mammoth.html

-dave
Old 3rd August 2005 | Show parent
Gear Head

🎧 15 years
Its a little pricey but Mesa Boogie has a tube driver that sounds really good to my ears. I coant remember waht it is called though. I looks a lot like the Buddah Bass distortion pedal.

I use a Sans Amp GT2 guitar for my over drive, it sucks a little of the lows out but I just make those up on the amp.

Twonky
Old 3rd August 2005
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
My favourite is the Fulltone Bassdrive (fulltone.com).
I have one that's a custom unit..
in fact I think I sort of started the idea, when I contacted Mike Fuller there and asked him to modify a Fulldrive 2 (guitar overdrive) to be more bass friendly but to leave me a switch to go between guitar and bass modes.

Soon after that he started selling the BassDrive version.

It's a very cool distortion with total bypass when you don't want it.

next best, but also a cool pedal in its own right is the SansAmp Bass Driver DI... its upside is that it's also a good DI box that allows you to add some distortion and tone shaping to the DI signal.