The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
question about vocal recording chain?
Old 3rd August 2005
question about vocal recording chain?

im looking to get my first high quality character preamp but i am not sure whether or not this is the right decision for me. im kinda making the transition from mid-level to higher end project studio and have gotten ride of all my lower end preamps joemeek, presonus etc. to purchase a RME fireface. therefore my interface and converters are ready to rock. the onboard pres are nice for most stuff since i work alot with samples and vsti instruments but my vocals are def not gona shine on those pres. My eyes are set on the Great River ME-1NV since it is somewhat versitle for my setup. The only problem is im a college student and dont have the money to upgrade everything so im basically stuck with my Studio Project C1 microphone. Will this mic sound good on this great preamp or is it not worth the money. I have a $1000 to play with but i really dont want to mess with any more mid-level setups anymore. let me know thanks.
Old 3rd August 2005
Lives for gear

Mics trump pre's in the recording chain IMO. The GR will make the SP sound slightly better, but a great mic would have improved you chain much more with your old pres...(IMO)
Old 3rd August 2005
Jai guru deva om

Quote:
Originally Posted by kats
Mics trump pre's in the recording chain IMO. The GR will make the SP sound slightly better, but a great mic would have improved you chain much more with your old pres...(IMO)
Agreed. Also, is there any place nearby you can demo mics? That really would be the ultimate, provided the C1 isn't what your voice in particular needs (I'm assuming that's what you're saying).

War
Old 3rd August 2005
Gear Nut

Completely disagree. I'll take a hot mic pre and average mic over a hot mic and average pre any day.