The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Tascam DM3200 vs. MOTU 24i/o
Old 31st July 2005
Here for the gear

Tascam DM3200 vs. MOTU 24i/o

Hello again to all!

I talked to my sales associate about getting a DM3200 with the FW card and he suggested that I could go with the 24i/o, a Mackie control, and a Presonus central station with remote. Both set ups cost about the same (minus the DM3200 meter bridge).

My question is which set up would sound the best? I know that's subjective but I have to ask.

Also if externally clocked with a Big Ben, would the DM3200 sound better than the 24i/o or vice versa?

My background is that I really don't need 24 ins ( or outs sense mixing is ITB) but I do need more than 8. My studio is for my label which is Rap and R&B. We only use a Vocal mic and Stereo pair in the booth and all goes through external pre's/comp's. The majority of ins would go to the keyboards ( Fantom x, Motif's, Triton's, etc.) and MPC's.

The only thing I can look at without knowing the sound of each set up is the convenience of having everything in one with the DM3200. The DM3200 as a controller also controls 16 tracks at a time instead of just 8 as with the Mackie.

My main concern is sound quality. I'm just anxoius to hear some other opinions on this before I commit. What would you choose?

Thank you!
Texas
Old 31st July 2005
Lives for gear

I'd go with the Tascam console over a Pre Sonus/MOTU combo. I'm not sure that the Tascam is shipping yet though.

Assuming you're recording to hard disk, you could also get something like a Lynx AES16 card with a Lynx Aurora 16 converter. Add the controller of your choice (Mackie Controller Universal or Tascam US-2400 probably) and you'll have a really nice rig.

I guess you'll need some mic pres too if you get a Lynx setup. You'll find more than a few opinions on mic pres here.
Old 31st July 2005
Lives for gear