The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
new to analog tape - hints / tips?
Old 25th July 2005
Here for the gear

new to analog tape - hints / tips?

Hi Folks,

I've got my first session on 2" coming up in a couple of weeks and just wanted to pick your collective brain about things to watch out for to let me get the best possible result.

Just for some background, i've been engineering for about 5 years and have been pretty successful at it so far. However i've been brought up entirely in the digital domain, started live on ADAT's and moved through to DAWs. The band i'm working with are quite passionate about tracking the drums and bass to tape and i'm pretty excited to have a crack at it.

So my questions basically are:

1) in terms of placement of tracks on the tape should I be careful where my kick/snare etc fall .. i'm thinking that sticking any really dynamic signals next to a loud not quite so dynamic signal. For example sticking a compressed DI'd bass next to a hi-hat track probably isn't the best idea.

2) in terms of printing signal to tape can things get too hot? I expect i'd be wanting to be careful with how hot i'm printing my kick and snare tracks so as to not obliterate the transients. I assume that printing kick + snare really hot the tape with saturate on the transients losing punch?

3) is it necessary or desirable to compress signals much going in (obviously some smashed room mics going to tape would be an exception where the compression is used as an effect)? Using a high-output tape is it necessary to use compression to bring the average signal level up to keep outta the noise floor?

Anything else to watch out for?

Sorry for the noob questions, but we gotta learn somewhere

Thanks
Old 25th July 2005
Lives for gear

does the studio with the 2 " machine use it regularly ?
Old 25th July 2005
Here for the gear

Its used pretty regularly. I also have organised a good local tech to come in and line the machine up.
Old 25th July 2005
Lives for gear