The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Bomb Factory Plug-Ins
Old 24th July 2005
Lives for gear

Bomb Factory Plug-Ins

What do you guys think of the Bomb Factory line of plug-ins? I have no experience with any of the units they are "cloning", but I do find the plug ins very useful. For example, when I use the La-2a plugin, I find it can really smooth out the dynamics of a vocal or guitar in a very transparent way, yet as far as tone, I don't really notice to much of a change. The 1176 also seems to work well for drums, (as I assume the real deal would), but is there quite a bit more to these units then these plugins offer? What about the others, Fairchild, Sansamp, La-3a. etc. Any thoughts?
Old 25th July 2005
Lives for gear

Moog

We've got the moogerfooger bundle, and it gets a thumbsup all the way around here.
Old 25th July 2005
Lives for gear

I love the Bomb Factory Voce Spin (not so much the Voce Chorus.) The Tel-Ray is fun once in a while.

The compressors, I don't love. Haven't had one stay in a mix except for once when I really had to chew something up; then I used the BF76.
Old 25th July 2005
Here for the gear

I love the BF76, it's my compressor of choice now.
Old 25th July 2005
Gear Addict

When they first came out, they seemed like a godsend, compared to the other compressor plugins available. Now, I still find them useful, but their sonics aren't quite what I'd like. I'm ready for the next generation...

Comparing the plugins to the hardware they emulate is... painful, for the most part. You can hear the similarities, but the hardware just sounds better, usually much better, when I've had a chance to compare.

As massive as the price difference is, I'm pretty much committed to using the real thing when I can. That isn't always, so the plugs stick around.

FWIW, I much prefer the Purple Audio plugin to the original 1176 plug, but maybe I'm just being deceived by the pretty colors.
Old 25th July 2005
Lives for gear

UA's kill BF.
Old 25th July 2005
Lives for gear