The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Keying - can someone explain and give examples?
Old 24th July 2005
Gear Addict

Keying - can someone explain and give examples?

Hi

I'm a relative newbie home recording engineer, and have been looking at the keying and key listen features of SAwstudio.

Can someone please explain what keying is, and give examples of how this is used to create different effects in music?

Thanks!

Shaun
www.gilbert.net.au
Old 24th July 2005
Lives for gear

Hi,

keying (used with gates sometimes called ducking ) or side chain (used with compressors I like to call it ducking too) is basically triggering a function or controlling a function by other source rather then the original source you hear going through the device you sidechain/key.
In simple terms, if you have a long sustained note and you put a gate on the note you can trigger the gate to open and close by sending other sounds to it,
For example: I’ll be using logic (Emagic turned apple) terms but you can do it on any other program.
program a hi-hat playing 16´th on a 4 bar loop and send it to Bus 1 and then program a 4 bar long note on a different track, make sure you cycle (or loop) for this exercises, insert a gate on the long note track and when you look at the gate editing screen you can see the usual threshold attack release and floor level, you will also see a key or sidechain at the top right of the screen , in the key box select Bus 1 and then play and adjust your threshold and other setting to create a 16´th pattern from the long note, remember that the gate will open and close by the sound you send into it via the key (in this case the 16´th hh you programmed earlier.
You could also duck sounds using a kick in dance tunes (like call on me/Eric pryde or earlier daft punk records... it gives you that sucking effect .

Hope this helps

Good luck with your show
Old 24th July 2005
Gear Guru

first, you locate the asshole's shiny new car in the parking lot. then...

wait, my mistake.