The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Room treatment in Los Angeles
Old 20th July 2005
Gear Maniac

Room treatment in Los Angeles

I am finally going to treat my project (home) studio and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on someone who could consult on this. I have read the Ethan Winter site, a number of the relevent posts, some other websites, and even though I have an engineering degree...I just want someone who has done this acoustics stuff before so I can save time and not make any bonehead mistakes due to my inexperience in this area. I am mainly musician/producer/engineer in that order.

Any LA slutz who know what they are doing and would be interested let me know, or a reference to a pro acoustician (sp?) who is not stupid expensive would be fine. I just want the suggestions, I'll make the decisions on what I can do (afford) and do the work myself (traps with a cheapness...etc.). This is in my home so I am not going to go too far if you know what I mean. Current control/tracking room about 20 X 17, and potentially another room about 25 X 25.
Old 20th July 2005
Gear Guru

SS,

> pro acoustician (sp?) who is not stupid expensive ... do the work myself (traps with a cheapness...etc.). <

For the cost of even a low-budget acoustician you could buy from RealTraps and get free advice from me as part of the sale. And you wouldn't have to build anything.

Not to be pushy! Just a thought.

--Ethan
Old 20th July 2005
I'd give George Augspurger a call - he's remarkably affordable yet has a proven track record in studio acoustics...

[Edit: fine, nevermind...]
Old 20th July 2005
Gear Addict

I'd take Ethan up on that. Anyone who's dealt with him knows he's not a spammer, I truly believe he's in this for more than just the money. He's probably offering to give you advise just cause he enjoys acoustics.

Bob Hodas is awesome, but you'd probably have to pay for his trip down to LA, he's located in Oakland. Maybe you could piggy-back if he's doing other work down here.