The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Recording/mixing for friends. Free of charge?
Old 18th July 2005
Gear Maniac

Recording/mixing for friends. Free of charge?

Hello.

This is a difficult situation for me. A friend wants to record and mix a few songs. He wants me to do it. I want to do it, too, because he is such a nice guy and I know what kind of sounds he is looking for.

Problem is, I am doing this for a living, so lots of other "regular", "paying" sessions going on these days...

So, what is the right thing to do?
What would you do?
When you record or mix for friends, do you do it completely free of charge?
Or do you ask for some money for your time?

Thank you for reading this.
Any input appreciated.

Old 18th July 2005
Lives for gear

Definetly ask for some money, give a good price..
Real friends understand you make a living out of it.
This may create a distance which I think you'll need.

I don't like working for friends outside the buisness.
I've experienced delicate situations that affected my friendship.

ruudman
Old 18th July 2005
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruudman
Definetly ask for some money, give a good price..
Real friends understand you make a living out of it.
This may create a distance which I think you'll need.
I don't like working for friends outside the buisness.
I've experienced delicate situations that affected my friendship.
ruudman
Thank you for replying.

I feel awkard just typing this...
Do you think asking for half the usual rates is a good price?
Old 18th July 2005
Motown legend

I've always found the only time relationships remain clean is when your friend has offered to pay full price or when you are offering to work for free.

Everybody tends to walk away from the middle ground feeling ripped off from doing something they couldn't afford to do.
Old 18th July 2005
Lives for gear

Actually, you have a point there, Bob.

In that case, I'd charge the regular rate.

ruudman
Old 18th July 2005
Gear Maniac

Quote: