The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
MY FIRST REAL SESSION NEXT WEEK! ADVICE NEEDED!!
Old 18th July 2005
Gear Head

MY FIRST REAL SESSION NEXT WEEK! ADVICE NEEDED!!

Ok, I've been recording vocals strictly for about five years now, and done a great job on R&B and hip hop. Now though, I've moved into rock, and my first session is next week. Alternative rock band with keyboardist. My gear is:

Digi 002 Board
Event 20/20's
Rode NT2
Shure SM58
(2) Shure SM57's
Shure PGDRM6 Drum Mic Kit (kick, three tom, two overhead)
SM Audio SM8 8 Input Preamp

I've never done live music so I had a few questions:

1) I assume you usually record drums first. Should I metronome it and make it exactly on tempo? or let the drummer create his own tempo?

2) also, if they're doing three songs, should I record drums for ALL three first? or do one song at a time?

3) Any general mic'ing advice for guitar amp, bass amp, drums.

also just general obvious and practical recording techneques for a band.

Remember, I've been doing hip hop so this is a hugge adjustment.

Thanks so much in advance for the help!
Old 18th July 2005
Gear Addict

Here is my experience.. (And all of this is assuming the band is good.)

Everytime I've recorded rock bands, the results were better when tracking everything at the same time. You get all the guys in the same room, and make sure that there is a good vibe. Set a creative mood that will make the guys want to play the best they can, and let them do everything.

You didn't mention having any type of headphone monitoring, which means that the amps would need to be in the same room for the musicians, in order for them to hear what they do. The only challenge is to control the leakage of the amps into the drum mics. Once you get that under control, you're gonna be OK.
(If you feel that the band sucks and will need 50 hours of editing to tighten everything, then you might as well drop this idea and record everything seperatly...)