The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
How many gear slutz are engineers/musicians?
Old 11th July 2005
Gear Addict

How many gear slutz are engineers/musicians?

I'm wondering how many gearslutz are engineers and musicians. I was browsing the forums and warhead came up with an interesting point. His statement was that recording can be the darkside for musicians. He meant that it can take away from the creative aspect having to record ones own music. I've heard some say that you're either one or the other when it comes to being an engineer or a musician. I agree to a certain extent but I feel that personally I am a musician and aspiring engineer. I've had a hard time doing both lately. Between interning at the studio and working my night job I haven't had the time to write but am really passionate about recording. I wanted to see just how many of us actually do record other peoples music and also write and record their own.
PEACE
Old 11th July 2005
Gear Addict

I'm both here. I was always told that you had to do one or the other too, but some of my influences were guys that excelled on both sides of the desk. For the longest time I felt the only way you could be respected as both was to be a producer which combines the greater functions of creative and technical as a engineer and as a musician.

I will say however that I've seen a lot of great musician/writers shoot themselves in the foot when left to their own devices in the studio. Self-produced musicians can be the one of the greatest curse or blessing depending on the individual.

I will also say that when I work on a project that has a budget I prefer to play one role and hire someone for the other. If you can find a partner that gels with your style of engineering and you let them do their job, two QC's experts are bound to let only the best work leave the studio.
Old 11th July 2005
Gear Guru