The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
How Does Tom Baker Do It?
Old 10th July 2005
Gear Nut

How Does Tom Baker Do It?

I've been pretty disgusted with most Rock Cds as of late but I find my self time and time again loving the sound of CDs mastered by Tom Baker at Precision mastering. They are loud, they are thick, and the drums are always punchy. I looked at his gear list and it looked pretty normal. What does he use for "loudening".. if you've had him master your stuff, does he use the db/lavry gold mkII analog saturation and just SLAM into it? Does he use the onboard limiting that the Lavry has? I'm beginning to wonder if the sound I hear from a lot of the top mastering engineers is the overloading of the lavry gold a/ds coupled with their saturation and limiting options. Any thoughts?
Old 10th July 2005
Nut
Gear Nut

I'm going to be a really newbie here and ask a question..

Wouldn't the mix engineer be mostly responsible for punch and thickness ? Mastering is a finishing touch, not the defining moment... correct ? I'm asking, not telling. Educate me !
Old 10th July 2005
Lives for gear

He uses a sonic screwdriver.

(this comment may baffle any of the non-Brits on here, I guess!)
Old 10th July 2005
Gear Addict

I'm Filipino, but I get it! heh In fact, I actually thought the thread was about him!
Old 10th July 2005

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuartMac
He uses a sonic screwdriver.

(this comment may baffle any of the non-Brits on here, I guess!)

nice one...
Old 10th July 2005
Gear Addict

Jon Pertwee used to reverse the polarity heh
Old 10th July 2005
Lives for gear

It's all the nice outboard in K-9
Old 10th July 2005
Lives for gear

I guess we are all showing our nationality here then... heh

When I saw the thread title I immediately thought it was something to do with voice overs, and dulcet tones, etc, ('how does Tom sound SO authorative?')...

I was quite disappointed to find that not to be the case... maybe a Doctor thread is called for somewhere!?