The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
My ears are tired (DAC-1, Lucid GENx6-96, O1v96)
Old 8th July 2005
Gear Maniac

My ears are tired (DAC-1, Lucid GENx6-96, O1v96)

Just added a number of new devices to upgrade my studio...and boy are my ears tired.

One clear observation for me; You have to listen HARD to hear a difference in clocks, and D/A converters. Now I don't have golden ears by any stretch....

So on to the Yamaha O1v96;
Very nice board, with the mLAN card, you get 16/16 I/O of 24-bit conversion into a firewire connector on your computer. It has some sick routing that I can't even begin to fathom how I am going to use it (Disclaimer; I am a musician first).

Lucid GENx6-96;
When changing the clock back and forth between the o1v96 internal and the Lucid clock, the difference is REALLY minimal, but it is there. My test sources are the demo songs in Cubase SX 3 (just bought that too...). A little more (sub)bottom on boom bass, a little clearer on stuff like finger snaps and high hat, but I mean, really little. Reverb is a little clearer and more defined on stuff like guitar.

Benchmark DAC-1;
The sound is "tighter" and a little more glued together than through the main outs of the o1v. But again, not by that much. Some of the sounds have a little more "presence". I think I am losing some ambience with the DAC-1 vs. the o1v96 main outs, but maybe that was just noise...lol.

I had to listen for the last two days to hear these things. I am monitoring through Dynaudio BM6A's in an untreated room (that's coming), but I have a pretty good monitoring position. As am aspiring slut I suppose I will keep the Lucid clock and the DAC-1, but I really have to scrath my head on it. The difference with this stuff is not like "lifting a veil off of the speakers" or any other similar analogy I have heard, at least to me. My wife (a typical consumer) can't tell the difference at all between any of this.