The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
newbie: api 512c or Chandler TG-2 ?
Old 3rd July 2005
Here for the gear

newbie: api 512c or Chandler TG-2 ?

Hi everyone, newbie here.
I'm considering either the api 512c, Chandler TG-2 or maybe even the Great River ME-1NV.

I will be recording heavily distorted guitars mostly since I have an intense love for metal (classic, death, nu, punk and hard rock) This is what my main interest is in for a mic pre. I will be using a Krank Krankentein cab with an SM-57. I think i'll only need to do one track at a time, all overdubs.

What do you guys suggest?
Is the Chandler TG-2 a huge improvement over the
api 512c? Like night and day?

Also does the api require you to buy something additional
like the lunchbox to be able to use or can i simply
connect a mic to it and then connect a cord from the
api to the line in on my computer? I checked out the
specs and info but it's mostly greek to me.

Here is more info you may ask about...

E-Machines celeron 1.40 ghz
(i know, bad! will possibly upgrade or replace in the
future but how could this hurt me now? not compatible
with soundcards such as Delta's since they require
Pentium III? slows computer or even crashes?)

E-Machines speakers that came with computer that sound
good to me but i know, bad! will possibly replace in
the future.

128 mgb ram
40 gb hard drive
soundmax soundcard (i think) (i know, bad! will possibly replace in the future but how could this hurt me now? cause distortion? not reproduce true sound? unwanted noise?)

Acid 3.0
Yamaha DTXpress II electronic drum kit
I plan on getting more mics also.
Any help on anything would be awesome...
Old 3rd July 2005
member no 666

If you're specifically looking for a pre for "heavily distorted guitars" it's pretty hard to beat the TG-2... if you're looking for a rather serious general purpose pre, it's pretty hard to beat the ME-1NV [but I'm probably biased on that one].
Old 3rd July 2005
Here for the gear

By the way