The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
daw pc 's are bad systems for audio
Old 2nd July 2005
Here for the gear

daw pc 's are bad systems for audio

Hi all. I know everyone who uses a pc for audio will hate me for this , but here goes. I have to get this out there. I've been using my dual amd pc rig for a couple of years now and heres what I see is a definate problem with the way a this whole systems works. The audio process must pass through to many hurtles before it is written to the pc hard drive . I ve discovered this and this problem I don't thing will every go away with pc's. This is why pro tool hd systems are so expensive it doesn't write to the hard drives in the same way as pc do. There is never enough clean power coming through that master buss period . I have sx-nuendo- rme hardware- good console- good mikes- doesn't matter. Today we tested an older adat ran it through the console for playback it sounded great for what it is / Than we recorded it into nuendo and played that back to compare . All levels were set the same/ The playback volume was 30 to 35 percent lower than playback dirrectly out of the adat. I think I will buy a alesis hd24 and use nuendo and my pc for editing and call it a day. I bet there are alot of people struggling with the same lack of power I would call it . Would love some feedback on this
Paulieg
Old 2nd July 2005
Lives for gear

what ?

crank it up ... prolly the macs are louder
Old 2nd July 2005
Lives for gear

my audio pc runs and sounds fine.
Old 2nd July 2005
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulieg
This is why pro tool hd systems are so expensive it doesn't write to the hard drives in the same way as pc do. There is never enough clean power coming through that master buss period .
mwaa?
Old 2nd July 2005
Lives for gear

What's the basic path the audio takes after the converter and before the hard drive?