The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
How to get mixing / recording work?
Old 7th February 2009
Lives for gear

How to get mixing / recording work?

I have been doing freelance recordings and mixing for several years now. And in being a live sound engineer and a musician I have been collecting gear and working with it for several years. I am just wondering how do you get mixing and recording jobs? It seems I have allot of time on my hands and I am doing mixes for a few artists. I have a professional mixing facility to mix at and some great tools and plenty experience to be confident that I am a pro. But like I said I did this freelance and Im just trying to get some work and advise on how to do it. Any valid tips are welcomed. Thanks!
Old 7th February 2009
Gear Addict

Record/mix records that people really like. This is the one and only way to get work doing this. It may mean doing some records for next to nothing but once youve made some gems, folks will come a knockin.
Old 7th February 2009
It's all about people-- getting to know them, demonstrating what you can do, getting them to trust you with their projects. You need to connect with people who are right at the point of needing a solid, representative recording and offer them a deal they would be foolish to pass up.

After a while, it will be all about the long trail of CDs you leave in your wake and the reputation you get by consistently doing amazing work, going the extra mile and a half, saving the day a time or two, being a fun and amusing guy to hang out with.

In my formative days, my mentor-figure pointed out that this business-- a service business-- is no different from landscape architecture or lawyering. You need to be someone people can turn to with confidence.