The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Noobie pianist
Old 7th February 2009
Lives for gear

Noobie pianist

Okay guys I promise you this is my last dumb noobie question in regards to progressions.Im new to music in general.When it comes to the technical stuff and mixing I think I have what it takes but I really need to step it up when it comes to music and I have been practicing piano for about 4months. Im taking lessons and practicing scales out of the "brown scale book". At the ned of each scale lesson it gives you the basic I IV V chords. Theay are consistantly I in first inversion, IV in the Root position and the V in second inversion.

My question is if this is a commonalty as far as inversions go with this chords in your progression. I was told in theory class that all progression are based around the I IV V chords and everything else is the icing.

I was also taught that the vi chord is often only inverted when going to the ii and that a diminished chord is often play in the first inversion,but this may only be in classic tonal music.

I was just wondering what your opinion on these perspectives and if they hold any value in todays music.
Old 7th February 2009
Lives for gear

I know this is a rediculous question and it kinda of is to me as well,but Im trying to practice scales and their chords.I can figure out the chords in their root position but Im pretty sure from watching others play this is not done very often,so Im trying to wrap my head around some kinda of groundwork to start from when practicing so I can then go from there to break the rules and create.But I need to do basics first. What is your advice for a beginner trying to learn scales and there chords? Are there any chords in the scale that are commonly inverted a certain way in regards to simple "kiddy triad progressions"?