The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Question for Pro Tools users...disappearing audio tracks???!!
Old 23rd March 2003
Lives for gear

Question for Pro Tools users...disappearing audio tracks???!!

Hi, I tried playing back a saved session today that played back fine when I saved it, but now most of the vocal tracks are not playing. (I'm using pt hd)
In the edit windo, I can see the waveforms are there and the volume and mute automation appears to still be set up right. The output is to the main stereo bus. When I play back the song, the green level meters do not even show signal, but I can see the recorded audio in the edit window. I'm new to pt, but this is a first for me and it has me stumped.
Anyone got any ideas for me to troubleshoot??

Thanks,
Steve
Old 23rd March 2003
Lives for gear

Weird. Have you tried selecting the region and doing a "Recalculate waveform" to see if your audio really is there? I've seen restores SHOW audio in the edit page, and spit out static bursts on playback (which shows up on the meter). This is just a guess, I haven't taken the HD plundge yet but I've seen it on mix plus' a couple times.
Old 23rd March 2003
Moderator emeritus

I've seen this behavior, too, especially when the project is made up of snippets of heavily edited or massively punched tracks. If the project is far enough along to do so, you might try consolidating some of the tracks so that the hard drive isn't searching as hard to find each piece of audio. That's worked for me, at least.
Old 23rd March 2003
Lives for gear

Re: Question for Pro Tools users...disappearing audio tracks???!!

Quote:
Originally posted by guittarzzan
Hi, I tried playing back a saved session today that played back fine when I saved it, but now most of the vocal tracks are not playing. (I'm using pt hd)