The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Hybrid Studio gear advise
Old 18th September 2008
Gear Addict

Hybrid Studio gear advise

Hi all!

I have an ITB studio, with a good plugin collection, and I'd like to get the next step getting a rack and filling it with selected analog gear, so I'd like having your advise about this (I have little background with analog gear).

This is what I have:

- Mac Pro with Nuendo 4, Waves Platinum, Liquid Mix, IK multimedia, and so on.
- Manley Slam!
- TL-Audio Dual Pentatode Preamp.
- Urei LA10
- JBL 7110EX
- A good stomp boxes collection.
- Hiwatt Custom Tape Echo

This is my gear search terms:

- I'm looking for analog "color". I have great plugins, so I'm looking what I don't have.
- As cheap as possible. I know that this is a difficult one, but I wouldn't like going out of business. Having analog gear is for my own enjoyment.

I've been looking for other topics about this in this forum and I read about some Joemeek gear.

Thanks for your help!!

Best regards.
Old 18th September 2008
Lives for gear

On the cheap?

I send a lot of my stuff in through RNLA.
Old 18th September 2008
Lives for gear

If you want "cheap" analog color, start with a few reamps & direct boxes so that you can insert your stomp box collection at line level.

You could add another versatile 2-channel compressor because plugin compressors generally have a ways to go, whereas EQs and FX can sound pretty good.

If you want color from the source, look into a Chandler Limited Germanium Preamp/DI. Twisting its knobs can make it sound like you swapped mics or instruments, and it can sound fat or clean.
Old 18th September 2008
Lives for gear

I'm sorry but when you said analog color on the cheap I immediately thought of an MCI JH-110 1" 8-track.