The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Orpheus and ULN-2
Old 17th September 2008

Orpheus and ULN-2

My mind is wandering to and fro between these two interfaces. I am mainly a songwriter / composer / vocalist / guitar player, and looking for high quality for a small, but professional quality setup.
My thoughts and questions regarding these two interfaces:
Orpheus: Superb sound quality, more channels (although not necessarily needed for my work)
ULN-2: MIO console mixer, routing + mixing + summing in 80 bit with good FX, character plugins provide lots of color, less expensive

It comes down to two questions that I have not found the answer to yet. Maybe somebody can really help out and provide insight?
1. HOW BIG is the difference in sound quality between the Orpheus and the ULN-2? Is it really that dramatic? Or is the ULN-2 already so good that everybody would say for a high end project studio you would be set?
2. HOW GOOD are the character emulations and the other plugins in the ULN-2? And would summing through the 80bit MIO mixer make a relevant difference in sound quality compared to mixing only in the DAW (like I would have to do if I get the Orpheus)?
Old 17th September 2008

Oh, and just for the record (if that info is relevant for giving advice) the rest of the gear:

Adam P11 A monitor pair
Room treatment budget ca. 2000€
Macbook Pro with Cubase 4, NI Komplete 5, lots of sample libraries, URS CSP, UAD-2 Xpander Quad
Microphones: Shure SM7B and either...
low budget solution: Avant CV-12 and MXL V69M for two different colours
high budget solution: Lawson package deal - have to see if I can stretch the budget thus far