The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
is SAE worth it? better schools in ATL? Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 10th September 2008
Gear nut

is SAE worth it? better schools in ATL?

hi, ive been recording my band for about 4 years now, and im 24 and ready go back to school. i really dont want to go for a 4 years degree, and what i really want to do is audio engineering. i love it, and am obsessed with it, and i think its something that i excel at. my question is: is SAE worth it if i ultimately want to get a job in the audio field? even if its for a radio station or running live concert sound. i just want to make a step up in life from my pizza shop job, so i can actually save up some money and build a studio. i live in atlanta, so i was thinking about the art institute of atlanta, but what would ayone recomend as far as some kind of degree goes. is an associates degree good enough? thanks in advance guys
Old 13th September 2008
Gear interested

SAE is great

I went to S.A.E in stockholm, sweden and I think that that was the best money I ever spent.
Old 13th September 2008
Gear maniac

Old 14th September 2008
Lives for gear
1. There are literally thousands of 'graduates' of various types of audio schools for every single place of work.

2. Studying a proper subject like electronics or electrical engineering will allow you to follow other careers and will be recognised in the workplace by employers in general.

3. Many potential employers regard private colleges providing an education in non-standard subjects such as media studies and music technology to be a disqualification.

4. As a freelance engineer, you will often be required to have your own PT-HD or similar rig. Such a mobile set-up will cost about the same as a beginners course at a private college. If money is short, well, you make your choice!