The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
SSL Matrix or Neve 8128 Channel Strip Plugins
Old 7th September 2008
Here for the gear

SSL Matrix or Neve 8128

I've got an opportunity to buy old Neve 8128 console.As I checked some of the regular users oppinions it seems to be great "reach and wide" sounding board. The problem is it's maintenace cost and that's really big problem for me cause my studio is based in Poland so it's almost impossible to find a right tech for this gear..I know about 81series guys but calling them each time I'll have a problem would be a nightmare.

The alternative is SSL Matrix. New board which I hope wont be as expensive in maintenace but affraid it wont sounds as good as Neve.

Im a DAW based producer, hopefully will change my platform to ProTools HD very soon. Im mostly into R'n'B, Hip hop, Pop, Alternative music.

Or maybe you can recommond something differnet? My price range is 40k
Old 7th September 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp View Post
I've got an opportunity to buy old Neve 8128 console.As I checked some of the regular users oppinions it seems to be great "reach and wide" sounding board. The problem is it's maintenace cost and that's really big problem for me cause my studio is based in Poland so it's almost impossible to find a right tech for this gear..I know about 81series guys but calling them each time I'll have a problem would be a nightmare.

The alternative is SSL Matrix. New board which I hope wont be as expensive in maintenace but affraid it wont sounds as good as Neve.

Im a DAW based producer, hopefully will change my platform to ProTools HD very soon. Im mostly into R'n'B, Hip hop, Pop, Alternative music.

Or maybe you can recommond something differnet? My price range is 40k
40k for something that sounds like a Neve?